July 25, 2014, 08:56:29 am

Author Topic: morphine extraction from poppy seed tea  (Read 2146 times)

morphine extraction from poppy seed tea
« on: December 12, 2005, 01:23:00 pm »
in a dream i found this note i think it said:I am new to this site and i have some knowledge in the pharmaceutical area thanks to my dad being a pharmasist and him giving me his old books and i was reading this section in Remington's Pharmaceutical Sciences on the preperation for morphine. this is the general idea of the entry:Opium alkaloids are extracted one of two methods this one not involving calcium chloride(so it is prob. easyer)the opium is mixed wit acid water and concentrated and mixedwith alchahol and made strongly alkaline with ammonia. the morphine being but slightly soluable in dilute alchahol seperates out while the other alkaloids remain in the solution the crude morphine is purified and if needed in the presence of alchahol    sooo i was wondering if the crude opium from(3000G)of poppy seeds could be turend into morphine by using this process and if not it would work from the plant grown from the seeds in a backyard.

Offline DrYRHead

• Uberator
  • Ultimate Contributor
  • Sally as the cave
    • http://www.elfstarstudios.com/rabbit-hole.html
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2005, 02:36:00 pm »
It would not really be a synth. It would be an extraction. However, unless one had a huge amounts of seeds, it would not be worth while anyway.
DrYRHead

Welcome to the rabbit hole.

Offline morethoth

• Even More Contributor
    • http://n/a
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2005, 09:39:00 pm »
do you know what strain of poppy you've got?

an extraction from seed is more labourious than i could ever handle, definatly grow the buggers if appropriate. otherwise its crazy.
a morphine extraction is quite simple but i think, only sensible from a raw opium source, not seeds. all you really need is hydrochloric acid, ether and ammonium to get most derivitives including H.